Gold Glove Finalists Announced

Rawlings Sports announced the finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Thursday.

Baltimore Orioles

Orioles third baseman Manny Machado and first baseman Chris Davis are both finalists. Machado seeks his third Gold Glove; Davis, his first. Machado won the award both times Rawlings nominated him.
At least one Oriole has won the Gold Glove every year since 2011. Rawlings has awarded Baltimore 12 Gold Gloves in that span.

Washington Nationals

Washington third baseman Anthony Rendon is the lone Nationals finalist. This is his first nomination for the Gold Glove Award.
The last National to win a Gold Glove was the first baseman Adam LaRoche. He took home the hardware in 2012.
Rawlings has nominated at least one National every year since then.

American League

The four Detroit Tigers finalists are the most in the American League this year. The Boston Red Sox and Kansas City Royals each have three nominees.
The Minnesota Twins are the only team in the American League to not have a player nominated.

National League

With four finalists, the Chicago Cubs have the most nominees in the National League.
The Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies and San Francisco Giants each have three finalists.
The New York Mets are the only National League team to not have a nominee.
St. Louis Cardinals finalist Yadier Molina is eligible for his ninth straight Gold Glove Award. His eight total awards are the third most all-time for catchers. The only catchers with more Gold Gloves than Molina are Ivan Rodriguez and Johny Bench.


ESPN will announce the winners of the 2016 Gold Glove Awards Nov. 9.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.