Baker Mayfield One of Eight Captains for 2022 Season

After what head coach Matt Rhule described as “staggered voting,” the Carolina Panthers have named eight captains for the 2022-2023 season. Brian Burns, Shaq Thompson, Christian McCaffrey, Donte Jackson, JJ Jansen, and Taylor Moton return from last season’s captain corp. Newly tapped captains are quarterback Baker Mayfield and safety Jeremy Chinn.

The Panthers prepare to open the season on Sunday when they will host the Cleveland Browns, Mayfield’s former team, at Bank of America Stadium.

Sheena Quick
Sports mom/accountant/life-long athlete and lover of all sports.